Cloning hard drive questions

I have a ADATA XPG 8200 pro 1 terabyte coming in the mail Saturday and I was wondering about cloning. I’ve never swapped hard drives before so I’m very new to this. It seems reinstalling would be a lot more involved and time consuming and I also share the pc with my wife so I don’t want to mess around or screw up her lay out. When I clone my HDD to my new M.2 SSD is it a copy or more of a direct transfer? Or do both of the hard drives now contain the same information? Ideally I’d like both of them to contain the information 1.) because it would be good to have the data backed up and 2.) just in case something goes wrong with the cloning software. I’m very uninformed in all of this. So please the more information someone can share to make this transition to my new SSD would be absolutely appreciated. Thank you

4 minutes ago, Legodude50 said:

I have a ADATA XPG 8200 pro 1 terabyte coming in the mail Saturday and I was wondering about cloning. I’ve never swapped hard drives before so I’m very new to this. It seems reinstalling would be a lot more involved and time consuming and I also share the pc with my wife so I don’t want to mess around or screw up her lay out. When I clone my HDD to my new M.2 SSD is it a copy or more of a direct transfer? Or do both of the hard drives now contain the same information? Ideally I’d like both of them to contain the information 1.) because it would be good to have the data backed up and 2.) just in case something goes wrong with the cloning software. I’m very uninformed in all of this. So please the more information someone can share to make this transition to my new SSD would be absolutely appreciated. Thank you

Well, to start. I would reinstall but it can be a lot of work so cloning can be a good idea. I did it once and it worked decently enough. If you clone one drive to another they will have the same information so it is a copy to put it that way.