Best Linux OS for Multi-purpose Home Server

Hi guys,

I want to convert my old PC into a home server but I need some help picking an OS. I've heard that Ubuntu Server, Debian, Fedora, CentOS and OpenSUSE are some of the best but I need help picking the right one for my needs as I'm still fairly new to the Linux scene.

The server will function as:

• SAMBA file server
  • Plex Media Server
  • Pi-Hole  -  Sorry Linus. It's the advertisers' fault, not the content creators'. I'll buy a LTT hoodie and some t-shirts. (Please make women's LTT underwear too!)
  • I may also add other services in the future if I need them.

The OS needs to be stable and, most importantly, secure. It also needs to be lightweight because it'll initially be running on fairly old hardware (see below). I would like to use a Linux-based OS so I don't need to run Pi-Hole or Plex in a VM/jail. (I know FreeNAS has a Plex plugin but it can only run Pi-Hole in a Linux VM, adding overhead.) It would also be nice to have long term support or a rolling release so I don't need to fully upgrade the OS every few months.

I've tried Ubuntu Server 18.04 LTS on a VBox VM purely just to play around with it and test the functionality of the services I'll be running. I don't mind using CLI/SSH for most things but I would prefer a desktop environment or a web GUI for tasks that either can't be done over SSH or would be easier in a GUI, (e.g. network config, managing storage, etc.) so that kind of rules out the LTS version of Ubuntu Server unless anyone knows how to install XFCE on it.

Initial hardware (subject to future upgrades):

• CPU: i5-650 3.2GHz (3.4GHz boost) Clarkdale
  • Mobo: MSI 2A9C (MS-7613 from HP Pavilion 6000 series)
  • RAM: 16GB DDR3
  • Storage: TBC - I'm thinking boot from USB and use IronWolves in RAIDZ for storage
  • PSU: CiT 500W 80+ (I know it's cheap crap but it'll do for now till I get better hardware)

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Leah