Please help with my sons PC

AdamPhilpott

PLEASE HELP MY SON!!!

Hi Guys & Girls,

I need help with my sons pc. My son is 12 years old and has autism. He lives trains all day, everyday. A big part of his day is Train Simulator. He plays on his pc i bought him from ebay a year ago but is not running at a decent frame rate and crashes often which causes him great distress. I have basic knowledge of computers but with my basic know how i cant figure out what is wrong and what it needs. I have attached a screenshot showing what hardware the pc has.

Ram is DDR3 1600Mhz

Not sure if processor is good enough, not sure what processor i coup upgrade to,

With an upgrade to graphics card would this be enough, i need to work on a minimal budget as money is tight, but any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks people.

Hardware.png

Never played the game but looking at the system requirements online it seems like the pc has everything it needs outside of a better video card.

idk your budget or area, but 1050tis should be going for dirt cheap these days and would be able to handle that game.

For sure graphics card is a problem here. It's cheapest GPU used only for displaying screen and not much more these days. CPU is not great but still, it should not be a problem with train simulator games.

Problem may be different - even with bad GPU and not great CPU, system and game should not crash. It may be faulty ram, bad cpu cooler (unlikely since GPU is bottleneck here), bad PSU or anything else in fact. Without more testing is hard to say.

But it may be also GPU that uses probably passive cooling and is not designed for hard gaming. Replace GPU to anything like Radeon RX580, RX570 even or GeForce 1050Ti and you'll be fine. You must replace GPU anyway so it's not a big risk - no matter if ram or PSU is faulty or not, your GPU still is too weak to handle games with even medium quality.

9 minutes ago, AdamPhilpott said: