IT Certifications!

SeanCallinan

Hello LTT people! 
I teach a series of IT certifications, but I would love your opinion on certifications! 
(I understand a lot of you will cry "NO NEED FOR CERTS, I HAVE EXPERIENCE!"...  )
That's okay...  but not COMMON.....    
Positive feedback would be awesome to relay to my classes!

i'm with @Shimejii I would only suggest going after a certification if the job you want absolutely requires it.

In my area it's actually way more common that people want experience over a certification. 

🌲🌲🌲

◒ ◒ 

I very much appreciate the responses so far!        Consider this....  (I'm a college instructor for certifications...    I have A LOT of students with ZERO tech experience)......  its rough!   Thoughts?

the thing is alot of the the certs are online courses with limited variety, its like working at a car shop, sure you might have a masters in automotive engineering, but do you have experience working on a wide rang of cars and trucks? nope, you need experience  

AMD blackout rig

cpu: ryzen 5 3600 @4.4ghz @1.35v

gpu: rx5700xt 2200mhz

ram: vengeance lpx c15 3200mhz

mobo: gigabyte b550 auros pro 

psu: cooler master mwe 650w

case: masterbox mbx520

fans:Noctua industrial 3000rpm x6

2 minutes ago, SeanCallinan said:

I very much appreciate the responses so far!        Consider this....  (I'm a college instructor for certifications...    I have A LOT of students with ZERO tech experience)......  its rough!   Thoughts?

work with them, these kids usually didnt have a chance to get into this when they were younger and want to put in work now so that they can learn about this topic, if you properly teach the students they will probably be some of your best.

AMD blackout rig

Agreed Scuff Gang!   I feel morally obligated to at LEAST guide them to a system admin position yah?

I always tell myself...  "Don't get angry or condescending....   they need to ENTER the IT field before excelling...."     This worries me and stresses me.......