Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
manateeman77

Will a GTX 1660 Ti work with a MSI B450M MORTAR MAX?

19 minutes ago, manateeman77 said:

I'm not very experienced with what this means, but I just see smaller numbers than the Tomahawk has, so I got a little concerned.

Thank you!

The numbers tell you how many PCIe slots the board has, how many PCIe lanes are available on each slot and which PCIe generation it supports. Both the generation and number of lanes determines the maximum transfer speed of that slot. In practice, the number of PCIe lanes and the PCIe generation has very little impact on the performance of your GPU:

- NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti PCI-Express Scaling

- PCI-Express 4.0 Performance Scaling with Radeon RX 5700 XT

Both the Mortar and Tomahawk have one PCIe 3.0 slot with 16 lanes, which is what you'd typically attach the GPU to, so there shouldn't be any difference. They have a different number of additional slots and some of those slots will either be unavailable or have reduced speed if e.g. you attach an M.2 SSD. This shouldn't matter as long as you're not planning on using those slots for e.g. additional storage.

Posted · Original PosterOP

I'm about to buy the MSI B450M Mortar Max motherboard, and I just wanted to double check if it would work with my Nvidia Geforce GTX 1660Ti?

It seems like it would, but compared to other motherboards, the Mortar has:

1x PCI-E x16

2x PCI-E GEN

1x PCI-E X1

I'm not very experienced with what this means, but I just see smaller numbers than the Tomahawk has, so I got a little concerned.

Thank you!

For the most part, every graphics card will work with any motherboard, especially all the current stuff for sale.

In your case, yes the 1660ti will work fine with that board.

Main PC: