MSI MPG Z390 Gaming Pro Carbon ATX

DRSPID54

So I'm what you call a NOOB when it comes to computers, but I figured I would like to build one. I used pcpartspicker.com to compile a list. I have the Lian Li LANCOOL II case picked out and I want to put some cool looking RGB case fans on the font. So to be clear there are 3 120mm fans already existing in/on the case, and I want to order 3 more RGB fans for the front of the case, and move the one fan that is in the front that already come with the case to the top or the back. In the Motherboard specs it says it will support 5-4pin case fans and 1-4 pin water cooler pump. I also read in a forum on this same website that they make a power splitter or something of that nature for the fans. I have two questions. 1) Can I attach the 6th fan using the 4 pin Water pump connector? and 2) how effective are these power splitters? I think I can attach the 6th fan this way but like I stated Earlier I'm a NOOB and i want to make sure this is done "right".

Thanks for your time.

Splitters can be bad because they make the fan run at 100% all the time, which can get loud.  The standard move is to use a fan controller which is a little box with a bunch of fan connectors on it.  You’ll want a single fan cable for each connector.  This will allow you to control fan speed.  They’re often annoying to mount.  Double stick tape is common.  Six fans is a lot.  

Not a pro, not even very good.  I’m just old and have time currently.  Assuming I know a lot about computers can be a mistake.

Life is like a bowl of chocolates: there are all these little crinkly paper cups everywhere.

16 hours ago, Bombastinator said: