LVM questions

So, i assume i am not the first to ask it here, but i did not manage to find any proper answer...

some background (not vital to my question):

I have been an advanced system administrator for a government company for almost 3 years now, "mastering" in linux, vmware, netapp, windows, hardware and more...

I have a fair amount of technical background, and fluent in the technical lingual...

To my main question here:

Both at work and at my home server (running esxi 6.5), i have an Ubuntu server, both at work and at home i encountered a dilemma so to say... should i extend the existing virtual disk, therefor extend the existing pv, vg and lv? or should i create a new virtual disk, extend the vg with it and then extend the lv?

at work we have a "suggested" way to do it, but it is only for the root drive, and we say to always add a new virtual disk, although i believe it is because of a trauma from working with esxi 5.0 back in the days, where extending disks would lead to all kind of problems...

I would really like a solid answer, from the technical side of it, so not like "its easier like that...", but like "this way increase the misalignment over the physical disks..." or something..

p.s. i want to know if it changes if i am doing it to the root partition, a data partition, or even a lvcached partition.

thanks. 

depending on kernel/vm options... hot adding a new virtual drive can be easier than expanding because it could require a reboot to get the new space "seen".

If you know you can expand without needing a reboot of the VM.. then its really just personal preference.

Can Anybody Link A Virtual Machine while I go download some RAM?

21 hours ago, unijab said:

depending on kernel/vm options... hot adding a new virtual drive can be easier than expanding because it could require a reboot to get the new space "seen".

If you know you can expand without needing a reboot of the VM.. then its really just personal preference.