Planing to build NAS. Need advise

pani_alex

Hi, im planing to build a NAS (this is my filst time, i have no experience with NAS but im use to build pcs).

Here is what i have

a msi wind nettop 120 (from the garbage) (it have 2 sata, 1 CF, 1 mini PCIe in with im planing to put a 2 port sata card, it also have a another place where supose to be a second mini PCIe slot but it is not, does some one know if i solder there the conector it will work? (just for fan, im curious))

i have bought a CF card for the OS, it is on the way

planing to use 2 hdd  4TB with ZFS mirror with LZ4 compresion, since it supose to make some more space and speed

add another mirror if necesary to increase capacity (can i just add the disk to the mirror pool and tell it to extent the disk space or have to create another pool and use it separated?)

I have read that ZFS in mirror is more secure that Z1, also ideal will be 3 HDD in mirror but i think its near imposible that 2 disk die at the same time.

I also dont know if this nettop will suport 2 x 3,5" HDD, and if the diference in power consumption between 3,5 and 2,5 HDD its that big, since 3,5 HDD its cheaper and there is more variety. Give me some advice.

the SO im planing to use is OMV, also i want to install on it plex (dont want transcoding, dont know jet if it can be desabled), and nextCloud

i have some technical questions about how does how the SO works and how to plevent a complete lost of data in case the CF card dies or the pc dies

1- can i ran the SO in a configuration some how in mirror, lets say the secong sotorage in the SD reader, so if the CF dies it still runs and i just have to replace the CF so it reconstrucs it self and nothing happend (i realy dont have any idea) or do make some how a exact copy in another CF by usb adapter, so it the CF #1 dies, in the boot secuence the CF #2 boot and it continues working normaly?