Vivaldi Browser Coming to Android

jiyeon

Source: The Verge

An Android version of the Vivaldi browser is releasing in Beta on the Google Play Store.

Vivaldi, a web browser from a group of developers that formerly worked on Opera, is one to consider if you really want to customize your browsing experience. Now, Vivaldi is bringing that power-user spirit to mobile with a new Android version, available today in beta.

I've never used Vivaldi before, but would be up for trying it (even though it's in beta) as my go-to browser on Android has always just been Google Chrome as it's reliable and can sync with my Google account by default.

Vivaldi does offer compelling features such as speed dials, synced bookmarks, saved autofill information, and other UX features which will be familliar to those who use Vivaldi on desktop.

vivaldi_ui_explained1.png

Vivaldi also says it will also let you sync bookmarks, Speed Dials, passwords, autofill information, and those notes I mentioned across your desktop and mobile sessions, and claims this data is protected with end-to-end encryption by default. By comparison, Firefox’s account sync also has default end-to-end encryption, but Google only offers the end-to-end flavor (meaning Google can’t see what you’re syncing back and forth) if you set an optional passphrase.

Like anything that gets a mobile version, the Android version of Vivaldi won't be the fully-fledged, feature-rich desktop Vivaldi, but one can hope that in the full release, it will be the powerhouse browser that Android power users have always dreamed of.

Vivaldi’s mobile browser beta doesn’t seem to offer everything that the desktop version does — desktop Vivaldi’s cool ability to stack tabs into one tab seems to be missing, for example. If you’ve been waiting for a Vivaldi-like experience on mobile, though, the company’s official Android release sounds like it’s worth checking out.