Used or un-Used SSD????

Krofter
Go to solution Solved by Kisai,
6 hours ago, Krofter said:

I am trying to upgrade my laptop with an SSD. So it got me thinking. Should i buy a new SSD or get a second-hand one available online?. What is the general opinion? I am a college student and  gamer. So what should i do?

I'd suggest avoiding previously owned SSD's, NVme or SATA.

The problem is you don't know how much actual power-on-time and wear remaining are on that SSD until you buy it. I was pulling SATA SSD's from laptops today that I didn't expect to find SSD's in and noted that these might be TLC NAND, but I need to get the exact model number to verify it. However the drives in question apparently come in TLC and MLC variety. Since they're from 4 year old machines, the wear is likely fairly high.

The only pre-owned SSD's I'd suggest getting are those you get for free or salvage from broken machines so you can test them. 

SSD's that have been running on a TRIM-enabled OS, no data is recoverable. Triggering a secure erase on these will invoke an entire erase cycle. So the chances of getting someones data from a SSD is pretty low unless the drive was given to you without any attempt to erase it.

I am trying to upgrade my laptop with an SSD. So it got me thinking. Should i buy a new SSD or get a second-hand one available online?. What is the general opinion? I am a college student and  gamer. So what should i do?

Personally, with how SSD prices have dropped over the years (you can buy a 1TB NVMe M.2 for ~$100 new) I'd buy new. If it works, great. If it doesn't, you can get it replaced or your money back.

If you buy used, it may perform poorly (the reason someone's selling it), it likely won't get replaced, you might not get your money back.

That's just my opinion. I don't think you'll be saving a whole heck of a lot buying used here.

10 minutes ago, Krofter said: