Isopropyl alcohol 70% good enough?

Go to solution Solved by Mira Yurizaki,

70% is fine. It's recommended to use a lint-free cloth however. If you don't have one, coffee filters are an excellent substitute.

All you have to do to wipe off the old paste is dab the alcohol on the cloth and rub it off. That's it. Repeat as necessary until the surfaces look clean enough.

Hi guys,

I am about to get a new cooler soon and was wondering if 70% Isopropyl alcohol is good enough to clean off the thermal paste?

I tried looking for something more like 90% but unfortunately there is none available near me.

And if 70% is enough any tips or advice for cleaning the thermal paste? I've never done it before so don't want to mess anything up.

Thanks in advance!

PC Specs:

CPU: R5 2600(OCd to 4ghz)  |  CPU cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition  |  Mobo: Gigabyte B450 Aorus Pro Wifi  |  RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB  3200mhz(White)  |  PSU: Cooler Master MWE 750w 80+gold  |  GPU: Gigabyte RTX 2060 Gaming OC 6GB  |  NVME: 970 Evo+ 250gb(OS)  |  SSD: 860 Evo 500gb(Games) , MX500 1TB(Games)  |  HDD: WD Blue 2TB 5400rpm(Mass storage device)  |  Case: NZXT H500(White)  |  Case fans: 2x140 Noctua NF-P14s redux-1500 PWM(Grey) , 1x120 Thermaltake Riing 12 series red led

Peripherals:

Headset: HyperX Cloud Core  |  Mouse: Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum  |  Keyboard: Coolermaster MK750 CherryMX Red  |  Monitor: AOC G2590FX 25" Frameless Gaming Monitor

70% is fine. It's recommended to use a lint-free cloth however. If you don't have one, coffee filters are an excellent substitute.

All you have to do to wipe off the old paste is dab the alcohol on the cloth and rub it off. That's it. Repeat as necessary until the surfaces look clean enough.

1 minute ago, Mira Yurizaki said:

I'll need to look for coffee filters then.

Should I let it dry off for a bit after wiping off the thermal paste?

PC Specs: