Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Rinboo

Alternatives to wearing a static wrist band

2 minutes ago, Rinboo said:

Please help me understand, I'm new to pc building.

I've built many PCs in the past, and I've never worn a static wrist band. You don't need one.

Just place your motherboard on a piece of cardboard (before building in a case), don't stand on a carpet floor, don't wear anything with wool, and take off your socks. And most importantly, use common sense.

To ground yourself, just touch your PSU shell every little while (if you're really scared that you'll fry your components).

Posted · Original PosterOP

I'm building my first pc and don't wanna spend my money on a static wrist band as I'm really tight on budget. What are some of the other options I have that doesn't involve frying my parts?

Can I touch the ground once-in-awhile or touch something made out of metal (something other than my pc parts), does it work like that? Please help me understand, I'm new to pc building. Please tell me how to handle pc parts carefully. Thanks :D

Follow the basic rules:

1. only touch it when you need to

2. touch it on the edge of the pcb or other parts which are "safe" to touch

3. don't charge your self too much

well I recently just built one, and I did not use it. Honestly, you don't need it, most people don't use it because pc parts have gotten a lot more resistant to static electricity. Just don't build on carpet and stuff that could generate a lot of static electricity.

But, if you do want to take the extra precaution, DISCLAIMER: I DON'T REALLY KNOW WHAT I'M TALKING ABOUT HERE I'm pretty sure that you can plug in the power supply and just touch that every now and again. 

honestly, you should be fine. 

Posted · Best Answer
2 minutes ago, Rinboo said:

Please help me understand, I'm new to pc building.

I've built many PCs in the past, and I've never worn a static wrist band. You don't need one.