First time building, looking at AMD?

Hun7erLee

Hey there guys, I’m in the southern US and would like to build a new computer for my home office, something that could be used for casual gaming when I’m home and potentially some light CAD (licensed insurance adjuster). My current HP laptop runs the adjuster program fairly well so I’m not terribly concerned.

i do enjoy games like warframe and space engineers and both currently peg my potato of a laptop at 12fps.

im considering running with AMD, but don’t really know what CPU or motherboard to look at. Space isn’t an issue so ATX is my starting point, and I like the idea of expandability if this becomes a hobby of sorts.

I have no experience overclocking at all but again, I like the idea of it being possible in the future should I chose to jump down that rabbit hole.

after reading through parts of the forum here, and some research elsewhere as well I have some idea of what to look for but the motherboard and CPU have me stumped.

thanks for your thoughts on this

TLDR:

southern US

$1000~ excluding peripherals

AMD? 

Light gaming, dual monitor set up

If you can wait until July 7th(maybe a few days after for reviews) for Ryzen 3000 and RX 5700/RX 5700 XT then you should. Ryzen 3000 should provide significant boosts in single-core speed which leads to better performance in game, and the new RX GPUs should be better price to performance than current cards. Nvidia may also be doing price cuts and other stuff soon(to combat AMD's new RX GPU launch), so you might want to wait for that.

I would go with something like this:

The ryzen 3000 series is coming out in July, but a R5 2600 for 150$ is a killer deal. If it turns out to be not enough down the line you can swap the cpu out for the ryzen 3000 while using the same motherboard.

Pretty much as _d0nut has said, it would be better to wait it out for a month.