Setting up RDP to a VM created in Hyper-V

ThunderDave

Hi Guys, 

I'm all googled out and completely stuck now with a project. 
I've been tasked with setting up MS Access on an old server (running 2012 R2) that will allow 4 users to access for the application and files. 

I would like to start by saying I have never done this before and networking/VM is definitely not my strong point and I have never done this before, so have been relying on youtube and google. 

I have set up a VM using Hyper -V and installed the OS on it. However, I am unable to RDP into it from the Host Server or from my PC which is on the same network. I keep getting the response 'The logon attempt failed'. 

I have set up a virtual switch for the connection, enabled RDP on it, allowed RDP through the firewall and am able to ping the VM from my PC. 

I am now at a loss, so figured I would ask you legends for advice! Any advice or KB articles you guys would be greatly appreciated! 

Hey,

Will these 4 users need to be logged on at the same time? If so, you will need to ensure you have necessary RDSH roles and licensing installed and configured.

If the server is joined to a domain then:

Have you defined 'Allow users to connect remotely by using Remote Desktop Services' in the group policy (Computer Configuration -> Policies -> Administrative Templates -> Windows Components -> Remote Desktop Services -> Remote Desktop Session Host -> Connections) ?

Are you attempting to RDP with a domain or a local account? 

If the server is not joined to a domain, you should still be able to define above with gpedit.msc (Windows Key + R for run dialog).

Are you receiving the 'The logon attempt failed' error after putting in credentials?

Thanks for the response! 

The users would most likely be logged in at the same time, if possible. However, as I'm doing this on the cheap I would have to consider this with the licensing.