Getting electric shocks when touching the case

Alan GE

Hi.

I built a pc 2 months ago (my first build) so I'm using this case :

Bitfenix Pandora Core - window

So I decided to install a new stick of ram .. when I touched the case I got a strong shock from the metal part of the case ? Literally my hand is still hurting from that shock ? 

even when I touch the USB port it gives me a  shock

my motherboard is screwed to the standoff's and I have an HDD and fan at the top of the case like this :

Pandora-Core-Window-800px-21.png

My PowerSupply is CoolerMaster MWE 650W (Non-Modular)

is it because of the power supply cables? because both of the side panels are metal and the back one is touching the cables.?

I'm new to pc world so I don't know what to do actually :( 

(I'm using a power Extension to power up my monitor and pc)

Help ? 

If you actually got shocked it's either line voltage or static, since no other voltage inside a computer will create a noticeable shock on skin. If you heard a noise it was probably just strong static. If it wasn't static that means you've got an issue inside your PSU causing it to be both improperly grounded and to run line voltage through the case. If that's true it's time to take the PSU out behind the barn and get a new one.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Desktop:

Intel Core i7-11700K | Noctua NH-D15S chromax.black | ASUS ROG Strix Z590-E Gaming WiFi  | 32 GB G.SKILL TridentZ 3200 MHz | ASUS TUF Gaming RTX 3080 | 1TB Samsung 980 Pro M.2 PCIe 4.0 SSD | 2TB WD Blue M.2 SATA SSD | Seasonic Focus GX-850 Fractal Design Meshify C Windows 10 Pro

Laptop:

HP Omen 15 | AMD Ryzen 7 5800H | 16 GB 3200 MHz | Nvidia RTX 3060 | 1 TB WD Black PCIe 3.0 SSD | 512 GB Micron PCIe 3.0 SSD | Windows 11

2 minutes ago, BobVonBob said: