Any programmers/ software developers that can share their experiences

WindCraft

Hello all,

I am a student who is studying GCSE (England). I am studying computer science and I will study computer science in A-Level. I am thinking of getting a job related to computer programming. Can anyone share experiences of being a programmer or a software designer? 

p.s. I do apologize for my bad English

1 hour ago, WindCraft said:

Hello all,

I am a student who is studying GCSE (England). I am studying computer science and I will study computer science in A-Level. I am thinking of getting a job related to computer programming. Can anyone share experiences of being a programmer or a software designer? 

Sure, way back when, I was a COBOL dev (COBOL stands for Considered Obsolete By Other Languages. Not really, but it is an acronym, and it was a terribly verbose language to work in) and dealing with COBOL is what drove me away from programming.

Fast forward to the year 1999, December to be exact. I'm a systems support guy and one of my clients has a massive medical database that turns out isn't Y2K compliant. Fearing data loss, the company contacted the software maker, who apparently couldn't fix the bug in time.

So they asked if I could do anything. I thought about it for a bit, and started looking through the application files, only to discover the thing was written in COBOL.

So, dredging out from the depths of my memory, my COBOL skills, I proceeded to fix their bloody mess.

About a week after Y2K hit, the actual devs sent out a patch (along with other "bug fixes") which, amusingly enough, turned out to undo my work, break things even further, and render the system non-Y2K complaint again.

Good times, good times.  

NOTE: I no longer frequent this site. If you really need help, PM/DM me and my e.mail will alert me. 

10 minutes ago, Radium_Angel said: