Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
NightBizzare

Overclocking reduce life span?

Posted · Original PosterOP

Hello im new to overclocking so i dont know a lot. What about overclocking is reducing the life span of a graphics card? Is it the higher power limit? Higer core/memory clock? Higher core voltage?

Can someone explain to me please. Cause im not sure if i should overclock my asus dual 1060 3gb. i have tried and i got 140+ on the core and 360 on memory, and  power limit to 116.And i has worked perfectly fine under stress.  

I have now removed those settings cause i've read that overclocking reduces the life span of a GPU.

You'll only really drop the lifespan of something noticeably overclocking if you're really pushing it to the limit. Y'know, shoving boderline-unsafe volts through it and just yeeting the sumbitch. Just doing the normal stuff inside of Afterburner (or whatever you use) won't really hurt it since it's pretty idiot-proof.

Laptop: Latitude E4310 w/ i5 580M, 8GB RAM, 120GB 840 EVO, Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 wireless card, Windows 7 Pro x64

Main PC: sleeper Dell on profile boi

Zeus: 2x 1266MHz PIII, Supermicro P3TDDE, 1x 512MB PC133 ECC, Radeon 9600 Pro 128MB, 30GB DiamondMax Plus 8 + 80GB IBM DeskStar, Windows XP Pro SP3

On 2/26/2019 at 2:37 AM, campy said:

when my girlfriend comes over and sees my dining room and kitchen counters covered in pc parts from pre 2006 she immediately takes off her clothes

nothing sexual, she just doesnt want the nerd dust on her clothes 

2 minutes ago, flibberdipper said:

You'll only really drop the lifespan of something noticeably overclocking if you're really pushing it to the limit. Y'know, shoving boderline-unsafe volts through it and just yeeting the sumbitch. Just doing the normal stuff inside of Afterburner (or whatever you use) won't really hurt it since it's pretty idiot-proof.