Phishing Emails & YouTube Messages - Fake Giveaway Read more... ×
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
The Moses

What do I do after I build my PC.

Posted (edited) · Original PosterOP

Hey everyone! I just got done with my PC. Already installed windows and everything. What do I do from there? I’m new to PC’s so no clue. Do I learn to over clock and get games? 

Current Specs:

i7 8700K

Asus Z370 P motherboard

GTX 1080

16Gbs of Ram at 3000mhz 

corsair 120mm fans

Toshiba 250Gb ssd

Toshiba 2TB hard drive 

CNSP 10x cpu cooler 

Havent gotten my peripherals yet. Ordered my monitor already. Asus PG278Q. Any help and suggestions gladly accepted. 

EB3CE08D-0EA3-4E5A-8D04-7B0A487D8933.jpeg

5135D77C-9C2D-47C4-8254-76CB0B4F2109.jpeg

B20CB305-3D78-49C1-AF59-5805E664AD1D.jpeg

Edited by The Moses

Use it?

If you want to you could use the BIOS to overclock your CPU, here's a good guide on that.

https://www.pcworld.com/article/3186812/computers/how-to-overclock-your-pcs-cpu.html

You can also overclock your GPU, but that's become less of a boost thanks to Nvidia's GPU boost 3.0 actually being pretty good.

https://www.reddit.com/r/overclocking/wiki/gpu/general

16 hours ago, Quinten Verhelst said:

Step 1) Fix that GPU sag

I didn't even notice that, what is going on there. I've never seen sag that bad.

Did you install the thumbscrews while holding the GPU up?

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Desktop:

Intel Core i7-3820 | Corsair H100i | ASUS P9X79-LE | 16GB Patriot Viper 3 1866MHz DDR3 | MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G | 2TB WD Blue M.2 SATA SSD | 2TB Hitachi Deskstar HDD | 1TB WD Black HDD | Corsair CX750M Fractal Design Define R5 Windows 10 Pro / Linux Mint 19 Cinnamon

Laptop:

Dell XPS 15 9560 4K Touch | Intel Core i5-7300HQ | 12GB Generic (Crucial?) 2133MHz DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 1050 | 256GB Toshiba M.2 NVMe SSD | Windows 10

Posted · Original PosterOP