Office Server for Accounting database software

Hi guys!!, this is my first time posting on the LTT forum and i have a very important concern regarding the server we are using for our office.

I built a server pc using these parts:

CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 2400g

Mobo: MSI A320M PRO-VH PLUS

RAM: 16GB 2400Mhz Kingston Ram

PSU: 400 watt Rave 80 PLUS Certified power supply

HDD: SEAGATE Barracuda x2: one is used for the database server for our accounting software and the other is a file server for the office.

Please tell me what i am doing wrong in this setup and my main question is, will my parts be able to handle not being turned off? and only to be turned off every 3 months for cleanup.

Thank you!!

Hello,

I think it kind of depends on the size of the office. Therefore would be nice to know the amount of clients using the server and what tasks are running on it.

Additionally, I would suggest you to buy a second hard drive for any hard drive, where important data is stored on. Then put them into RAID1 and please dont forget about remote backups, due to the risk of fire still killing any data or other such events.

Best Regards,
Lucien

22 hours ago, Choy said:

Please tell me what i am doing wrong in this setup

As you wish:

PSU: 400 watt Rave 80 PLUS Certified power supply

HDD: SEAGATE Barracuda x2: one is used for the database server for our accounting software and the other is a file server for the office.

Use a high quality PSU for a machine that's this important, don't skimp on it. Get a name brand gold rated PSU if possible, like the Corsair RMx, Seasonic Focus Gold and Cooler master V series.

The drive config is somewhat dangerous as there's no redundancy at all. I hope you have a good means to backup all data regularly and safely.

PC Specs - AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D MSI B550M Mortar - 32GB Corsair Vengeance RGB DDR4-3600 @ CL16 - ASRock RX7800XT 660p 1TBGB & Crucial P5 1TB Fractal Define Mini C CM V750v2 - Windows 11 Pro

• 2 weeks later...