Looking for a $1000 laptop to (mostly) replace my desktop.

Hello,

I'm a college student approaching graduation and I'm looking to finally replace my gaming PC. Between school and gaining different interests, I find myself not gaming much anymore, and when I do, it's usually less intensive games like Rocket League or Dota 2. I'm finding it harder and harder to justify keeping my PC when I could have something much more portable and power efficient that will do what I need it to do.

Budget

Based on some quick research, I think I could get $800-$1000 by selling my PC, monitor, and current (cheap) laptop. (Side note: would it be better to sell my PC in parts or as a pre-built?) I'm willing to pay around $200 out of pocket to supplement this but would prefer to keep that to a minimum. So, that's the price range I'm working in.

What I Need

• Good Keyboard: I'm not completely sure what I'll be doing for a living, but there's a good chance it will involve a lot of writing, so I want a good keyboard that I can use for long periods of time without trouble. I have a mechanical keyboard with Cherry MX Browns right now, which I don't really like that much. I find myself regularly hitting multiple keys and it's a little tricky to feel where the key actually activates.
  • Photo Editing: I do some graphic work right now, so I want to be able to use Photoshop and Illustrator without much trouble. It doesn't have to be lightning fast, but I need it to work.
  • Longevity: I would like to be able to use this laptop for at least 5 years if not longer to justify the cost. I'm not the kind of person that needs the newest technology all the time.

What I Would Like

• Upgradeability: To help with the longevity, being able to upgrade some components myself would be nice. If the laptop is good enough, this might not be necessary.