Desoldering 8-pin bios chip off of HDD PCB??

lonely_sata_cable

ohh k so ive been trying to do a bios swap on a 2060-800039-p1 and im having trouble getting the bios chip off. personally i dont own a solder iron but the school IT department does and theve been very kind enough to let my me use it anytime i need to. point is im very new to soldering and have only really seen videos and how tos of how to desolder these 8-pin chip. so i ask, is there anyone hear that knows how to desolder, equpiment i have it solder iron, desolder copper braid, of course solder and some weird looking grey colored flux. Im no professional by any means but is this right. oh and it smells like cigarette smoke whenever it melts??? IDK, but is the any tips or tricks anyone could lend me. is there anything i need to buy. (keep it simple tho i cant afford those heat gun things). and ill post pictures in a few minutes of the PCB's and the flux jar. or anything else yall want to see ig

it seems like you should have what you need just be careful that you dont heat up other components near the chip.  Make sure the soldering Iron has a good tip and is not all gummed up. but for the most part soldering is pretty easy. 

Yeah it's doable, only 8 (big) legs. You can use the solder iron to desolder, but to have it nice and tidy a heatgun is best.

You need 3 tools at least, a solder iron / heatgun, solder sucking tool (i dont know the name) and a tweezer.
If you use heatgun have a flux ready and some metal foil to stop the heat reaching other component.

Heat the legs until melting temperature, suck the melted solder if any, do it one at a time each legs.

This guy use nothing but heatgun

Ryzen 5700g @ 4.4ghz all cores | Asrock B550M Steel Legend | 3060 | 2x 16gb Micron E 2666 @ 4200mhz cl16 | 500gb WD SN750 | 12 TB HDD | Deepcool Gammax 400 w/ 2 delta 4000rpm push pull | Antec Neo Eco Zen 500w

The general process when desoldering is...