All about server rooms

Hey guys,

Im posting this to ask if there are people on here who run server rooms, or have knowledge about server rooms.

I'm studying IT technology in Denmark, and we have been asked to come up with a theoretical server room surveillance product for a small/medium company. We have no idea what makes a server room run around, so I'm gonna ask a few questions, and if you have an answer, please reply to this post. It may be updated as our project develops. And thank you in advance.

What are the main concerns when talking about maintenance? I'm talking both server maintenance, and like keeping the server room clean, is that a necessity? Does dust build up

server rooms are sealed with air filtration and air conditioning

it gets extremely hot in there with all the servers

liquid cooled server rooms dont have this problem, but most arent liquid cooled

its also extremely loud

NEW PC build: Blank Heaven   minimalist white and black PC     Old S340 build log "White Heaven"        The "LIGHTCANON" flashlight build log        Project AntiRoll (prototype)        Custom speaker project

Spoiler

Ryzen 3950X | AMD Vega Frontier Edition | ASUS X570 Pro WS | Corsair Vengeance LPX 64GB | NZXT H500 | Seasonic Prime Fanless TX-700 | Custom loop | Coolermaster SK630 White | Logitech MX Master 2S | Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Pro 512GB | Samsung 58" 4k TV | Scarlett 2i4 | 2x AT2020

well, i have a small server "room" at home.

theres a few important aspects to a server room:

- stabile power, UPS if budget is available.

- temperature and moisture control. (dont have it be an oven, dont put your servers in a moldy basement)

- good wiring is key, as well as options for upgrading and maintaining that wiring.

- have it seperated from areas that require quietness, 1u servers scream until you're deaf.

I used to work at a Datacenter (DataHive in Calgary, Alberta), if there's any advice I can give you, is this.