C++ Help

anagiotis567

So,I'm New To C++ and as a first project i made a little program called "Legal Driving" Which Basicly Checks If A Person Is Allowed To Drive By asking different question.I've been working on this for half an hour now, and i can't figure out what's wrong.The code runs but has some minor issues.You'll see.

#include <iostream>int option;int option2;int main(){ std::cout <<"                   Legal Driving                \n\n"; std::cout <<"Please,Answer The Following Questions\n"; std::cout <<"       1st Question\n      "<< "How Old Are You?\n"; std::cin>>option;if(option>='19')std::cout<<"You Are Legally Allowed To Drive";else if(option<='18')std::cout<<"You Are Forbidden From Driving";return 0; std::cout <<"       2nd Question\n      "<<"Is Your BAC Above 0.08?\n" or "Are You Drunk"; std::cin >> option2;if(option2 == 'Yes' or 'Probably' or 'Most Likely' or 'I Think So' or 'Of Course' or 'I ve had a drink or two')std::cout<<"You Are Forbidden From Driving";else if (option2 == 'No'or'Of Course Not'or'I Do Not Think So')std::cout<<"You Are Legally Allowed To Drive";return 0;}

I'm not fluent in C++ per se, but it seems to me that you need an 'else' after the second 'else if' to counter the possibility that the input is something other than what you expected. It's good practice to always end all if-statements with user-provided values with an 'else' just in case they type in something unexpected, like in your case if the user typed 'yse' instead of 'yes'

So I'd put Else at the end and then reply something like "That's not a yes or a no. I'll just ask again." Then use GoTo to loop back to the row with the question. Maybe even clear the screen in between.

You need {} with your ifs/else ifs/else if you are executing more than 1 statement. Your return statement is running regardless of the condition because you dont have parenthesis for your code blocks.