How Does AIO Cooling Typically Fail?

Go to solution Solved by Duskie,

I'd never expect a leak unless you handled it roughly, and the most likely part to fail is the pump.

Hi, I'm new here. I took a quick look through old threads in here but couldn't find anything similar to my question.

I have a Corsair H105 AiO CPU cooler. This is my first build and I'm curious about two things:

1. What is the typical lifespan of an AiO cooler?
  2. How do they typically fail?

I'm confident in my CPU cooler, but everything has a lifespan. So when my cooler reaches that point, should I expect a leak or a dead pump? Thanks in advance, let me know if my post is breaking any rules or something.

I'd never expect a leak unless you handled it roughly, and the most likely part to fail is the pump.

i7 8086k @ 5.3Ghz / 32GB DDR4 Trident Z RGB @ 3733Mhz / Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps / PG348Q

its usually moving parts that fail first, in the case of a cooler: the pump.

I've heard of pumps dyeing 

3 tips to have a good time on the LTT forums | 1. When you reply to someone please quote them | 2. Please follow your threads | 3. Follow the C.o.C 

If you follow these 3 tips you should have a blast.

i'm rather proud of this for some reason. http://imgur.com/6ttS5XZ

Pumps die (that's mostly why I don't use them in customer builds)

Also, had someone who had a leak but turns out they were at fault but I'd not risk it and go for air cooling.

Stock coolers last much longer than these AIO coolers.

Death pump after just 6 months, CPU overheats to 99C shuts down, is unsuable for a few days. All that for freaking nothing, my new air cooler has better temps with 0 fans on it

Open your eyes and break your chains. Console peasantry is just a state of mind.

MSI 980Ti + Acer XB270HU 

Which color?

jk

im a spell pro

3 tips to have a good time on the LTT forums | 1. When you reply to someone please quote them | 2. Please follow your threads | 3. Follow the C.o.C 

I've heard of pumps dyeing