Very Quiet Skylake i7-6700K Build - Project Night Owl

amp88

Hello, and welcome to my build thread for what I hope will become a very quiet and very capable new build.

First off - as you can see from the current thread title I don't have a name for the project yet. I'm not very good at coming up with names, so if you have a suggestion please let me know and I'll pick the best one, if any are submitted. The build is going to be very low-key on the outside and mostly black on the inside with a couple of colour highlights. As I said before, the main concept of the build is for it to be very quiet, both at idle and under load, but also pack a healthy amount of performance.

edit: After a flash of inspiration (related to ordering the ASUS STRIX graphics card) I've decided to name this project "Night Owl". The STRIX range of cards prominently features an owl on the box art because Strix is a genus of owl. Like the fearsome birds of prey, this build will be quiet and unassuming when it needs to be, but still able to perform when called on.

On to the specs:

CPU: Intel Core i7-6700K

CPU Cooler: be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 3

Motherboard: ASUS Z170-A LGA1151

Memory: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4-3200 C16

Primary Storage: 2 x Samsung 128GB SM951 M.2 SSDs in PCIe RAID 0

Secondary Storage: Western Digital Caviar Green 3TB

Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 760 2GB Twin Frozr

edit: I originally intended to keep the 760 from my current desktop, but, after persuasion from the forum, I plumped for the 970 below. Thanks, all!

Video Card: 4GB Asus GTX 970 STRIX Direct CU II

Case: Fractal Design Define R5 Titanium Windowless

Power Supply: Corsair AX760 80+ Platinum Fully Modular

Optical Drive: LG BH10LS38 Blu-ray Writer

Operating System: Windows 8.1 64-bit

Case Fan (additional): be quiet! Silent Wings 2 140mm PWM