Do you recommend the r9 390 over the gtx 970?

It's my first time building a pc and I'm not sure which graphics card to go with between the r9 390 the gtx 970? Please help and try explain your answer! :)

It's my first time building a pc and I'm not sure which graphics card to go with between the r9 390 the gtx 970? Please help and try explain your answer! :)

if you dont need to pay for the electricity or its cheap ,then yes the 390. i like the compute performance of the 390 when i need it. and generally dont like closed/proprietary approach.

vram is very useful for editing 4k

If you want more vram go for the 390, the 970 is a very potent card though. It also depends on how much you are willing to pay.

If it's significantly cheaper yes. If you want to play on 4K, yes.

Otherwise no.

who cares...

I'll recommend whichever is cheaper...

i5 2400 | ASUS RTX 4090 TUF OC | Seasonic 1200W Prime Gold | WD Green 120gb | WD Blue 1tb | some ram | a random case

Both are great, the R9 390 has VRAM advantage and cheaper (not sure about temperature, I don't have this GPU) if your PSU can handle it then you can go for it.

But if your PSU can't handle the GPU, you can go with GTX 970, it's still a good GPU.

Where I hang out: The Garage - Car Enthusiast Club

My cars: 2006 Mazda RX-8 (MT) | 2014 Mazda 6 (AT) | 2009 Honda Jazz (AT)

PC Specs

Indonesia

CPU: i5-4690 | Motherboard: MSI B85-G43 | Memory: Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB | Power Supply: Corsair CX500 | Video Card: MSI GTX 970

Storage: Kingston V300 120GB & WD Blue 1TB | Network Card: ASUS PCE-AC56 | Peripherals: Microsoft Wired 600 & Logitech G29 + Shifter

Australia 

CPU: Ryzen 3 2200G | Motherboard: MSI - B450 Tomahawk | Memory: Mushkin - 8GB (1 x 8GB) | Storage: Mushkin 250GB & Western Digital - Caviar Blue 1TB
Video Card: GIGABYTE - RX 580 8GB | Case: Corsair - 100R ATX Mid Tower | Power Supply: Avolv 550W 80+ Gold