Building a NAS - Help me with the part list

Dimi3os

Hey guys, 

I'm looking to building a computer to use as a NAS using freeNAS. I'm not really experienced building NAS so I'm not aware of what will be enough for a home NAS with multiple drives.

Should I go with an LGA 1150 board and cpu (some lower tier cpu should do right?) or should I go with an AMD cpu because it has more cores and the NAS might be able to utilize these better than games do.

Please confirm if a NAS will utilize more cores, not sure about it.

What is your budget?  How many terabytes of storage do you want?  Are you going to RAID any of the drives?

sold

What is your budget?  How many terabytes of storage do you want?  Are you going to RAID any of the drives?

My budget without the drives is about 500 euros.

I would probably raid the drives yes.

My budget without the drives is about 500 euros.

I would probably raid the drives yes.

A decent i3 or i5 would be your best bet, unless you need (not want) ECC memory (which requires a different chipset), for increased reliability.

Mini-ITX or Micro-ATX?

sold

A decent i3 or i5 would be your best bet, unless you need (not want) ECC memory (which requires a different chipset), for increased reliability.

Mini-ITX or Micro-ATX?

Mini-ITX preferably but if you have to compromise sata ports/raid micro-atx will do

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel Core i3-4160 3.6GHz Dual-Core Processor  (€119.95 @ Amazon Deutschland)
Motherboard: MSI H97I AC Mini ITX LGA1150 Motherboard  (€106.89 @ Amazon Deutschland)
Memory: Kingston HyperX Fury Black 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866 Memory  (€57.89 @ Amazon Deutschland)
Case: Fractal Design Node 304 Mini ITX Tower Case  (€85.09 @ Amazon Deutschland)
Power Supply: SeaSonic 360W 80+ Gold Certified ATX Power Supply  (€69.90 @ Caseking)
Total: €439.72
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2015-07-01 09:18 CEST+0200