Tools to build new PC

Dr. Tejeda
Go to solution Solved by xeromynd,

The bare essentials you will need for building:

-Multibit screwdriver.

That's it. Touch the top of the PSU, plugged in but off, every now and then to ground yourself, or the case.

If you're talking about maintaining and upgrading:

-99% Isopropyl Alcohol [For removing thermal paste, if you can't find 99%, get the highest you can]

-Multibit Screwdriver

-Cable Ties [Cable management]

-Coffee Filters [For removing thermal paste off CPU and GPU]

-Q-Tips [For removing thermal paste in smaller areas)

-Antistatic Wrist Strap [Less/more of a hassle then grounding yourself every now and then, depending on who you ask]

-Spudgers/Pry Tools

-Magnetic Parts Tray [A godsend]

-Magnetic Pickerupperthing

-Canned Air

I'm new in the "make your own PC" world, and I don't have any tools yet, I pretend to stay working on my PC, changing components, maybe some modding on the future, to all of you who have done a lot of work on your PC, witch tools you think are the best, and witch ones you recommend to make the PC arm and disarm more easy.

I know a multi bit screwdriver is basic, witch one, or witch bits do I need, for SERIOUS business (change the GPU fans, disarm a PSU, open a HDD etc etc), also another tools like a magnetic tray etc., to make life easier.

Thanks

I've only used snips, zip ties, flashlight, and a Phillips head.

Spoiler

LTT's Fastest single core CineBench 11.5/15 score on air with i7-4790K on air

Main Rig

CPU: i7-4770K @ 4.3GHz 1.18v, Cooler: Noctua NH-U14S, Motherboard: Asus Sabertooth Mark 2, RAM: 16 GB G.Skill Sniper Series @ 1866MHz, GPU: EVGA 980Ti Classified @ 1507/1977MHz , Storage: 500GB 850 EVO, WD Cavier Black/Blue 1TB+1TB,  Power Supply: Corsair HX 750W, Case: Fractal Design r4 Black Pearl w/ Window, OS: Windows 10 Home 64bit

Plex Server WIP