Zero Compromise Wireless Headphones (Range, SQ, Latency)?

cloneman

What if I wanted to throw 300-700$ at a problem that's bothered me for years?

So I have some experience with Bluetooth and Proprietary solutions, and there are 3 main points on which I evaluate these products

- Latency for watching video (varies a lot with bluetooth)

- Sound quality (again, varies a lot with bluetooth based on the source device's codec)

- Range (really sucks with bluetooth, these things are designed to be within a few feet of you)

As far as bluetooth goes i'm fairly satisfied with my bluebuds x (especially when using them with a mac, my windows BT 2.1 adapter is disappointing), and the Steelseries H provides more range (I can listen from another room)

But, both options are still limited.

Wireless headsets I've tried:

- Range is either low(BT) or mediocre (Proprietary)

- Latency is either 'Meh' (BT) or  "probably" insignificant (Proprietary)

- SQ is usually 'good enough' but there aren't many devices to choose from. Logitech G930 seriously lacked bass.

- Not many options for open wireless headphones.

TL;DR.

Criterion 1: Seriously impressive range, even if the source is in the basement. Like, averge-sized House, some backyard coverage, etc. Has to work mostly everywhere, not just across 2 1/4 rooms.

Criterion 2: Latency. If possible, has to be wired headphones grade. I'm not a pro gramer, but I hate A/V sync issues for TV and moties

Criterion 3: Sound quality. I'm not an audiophile. Koss portapros and Bluebuds x (when used with a Mac) sound great to me. I like heavy bass and otherwise "normal" sounding 50$ headphones. There are many expensive wired headphones which I've tried and don't like.

Interesting non-solutions:

- Airplay/WiFi which provides unlimited range with wifi access points, but of course there's 1 second lag, it's not for video.