GPU overclocking issue PLEASE NEED HELP

Hi,

So I used MSI afterburner overclock my gigabyte G1 gaming gtx 980 to 122% core voltage and +215 Mhz, I ran 3d mark regular firestorm and everything seemed ok i was getting like 60fps. Then i went into Assassins Creed Unity (which was working fine before at like 60 or 50 fps) and i suddenly noticed a massive fps drop to like 14 fps. I then decided to reset the overclock to factory settings, so i pressed the little reset button. I went back into the game and my fps was still at 14 fps. I restarted, and uninstalled MSI afterburner (seeing if maybe that would do something) and i still had the same problem. I have no idea what i fucked up but I really need help. please if anyone know what happened and how i could fix it, it would be much appreciated.

What is your vram usage? If it hits 4gb this could happen

Intel Core i7 9700k - EVGA FTW GTX 970

before i was not hitting the limit though? and also sorry but im new at this but while im playing the game how could i tell?

and also even in the main menu the fps drops dramatically, and my mouse is laggy

get yourself a monitoring tool.

also, try resetting your PC and going with a milder clock for a while

We can't Benchmark like we used to, but we have our ways. One trick is to shove more GPUs in your computer. Like the time I needed to NV-Link, because I needed a higher HeavenBench score, so I did an SLI, which is what they called NV-Link back in the day. So, I decided to put two GPUs in my computer, which was the style at the time. Now, to add another GPU to your computer, costs a new PSU. Now in those days PSUs said OCZ on them, "Gimme 750W OCZs for an SLI" you'd say. Now where were we? Oh yeah, the important thing was that I had two GPUs in my rig, which was the style at the time! They didn't have RGB PSUs at the time, because of the war. The only thing you could get was those big green ones. 

also it is hitting like 2.8 to 3 gigs

also it is hitting like 2.8 to 3 gigs