Point of high resistance/impedance headphones and amp

marioo1182

So I am a current Electrical and Electronics Engineering student.

My questions is... Why would you want to have high resistant/impedance headphones?

They only reason that I can think of is that they offer more "precision" and therefore better sound.

If we start off with the obvious we all know that V=IR

So I=V/R

This is why you need an amp to drive higher impedance headphones, otherwise it would be to quiet. 

So if it is less expensive to buy lower impedance then what is the point? No amp required, decent sound for everyday listening, e.t.c.

Hopefully I don't sound too stupid but I've never understood why :)

LinusGGtips

Build It. Mod It. Customize It.

Well I don't know the answer, and I am not an engineer, but by my logical reasoning, small amounts of EMI can cause noticeable noise to be produced from the headphones that gets heard as static. If the headphones are 200 ohms instead of 20, those small amounts of electricity aka EMI will not cause a noticeable degradation in sound quality because of the high resistance. The small EMI would not be enough to make noise come from a 200ohm driver, therefore the signal coming from the amp would remain undistorted. This is just my logic though, I might be wrong.

NEW PC build: Blank Heaven   minimalist white and black PC     Old S340 build log "White Heaven"        The "LIGHTCANON" flashlight build log        Project AntiRoll (prototype)        Custom speaker project

Spoiler

Ryzen 3950X | AMD Vega Frontier Edition | ASUS X570 Pro WS | Corsair Vengeance LPX 64GB | NZXT H500 | Seasonic Prime Fanless TX-700 | Custom loop | Coolermaster SK630 White | Logitech MX Master 2S | Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Pro 512GB | Samsung 58" 4k TV | Scarlett 2i4 | 2x AT2020

There is a lot more to the equation than just impedance, plenty of high impedance devices still get loud on onboard / mobile devices.

Sensitivity is miles more important IMO.