do you really need a sound card ?

joshuktech

i am a media producer and i do alot of editing on my windows machine which is pretty good on specs and renders videos pretty good but my audio can be better since i have to edit my audio on my mac so i was think do i need a good sound card for audio editing since even on my mac i have to use a good set of cans 

EDIT: I know it is for gaming audio but it may have some good stuff to say about just all audio on your computer.

[CPU: AMD FX-6100 @3.3GHz ] [MoBo: Asrock 970 Extreme4] [GPU: Gigabyte 770 OC ] [RAM: 8GB] [sSD: 64gb for OS] [PSU: 550Watt Be Quiet!] [HDD: 1TB] [CPU cooler: Be Quiet! Shadow Rock Pro Sr1]  -Did i solve your question/problem? Please click 'Marked Solved'-

I have one and compared to my onboard I have no hiss when it's just powered on but not doing anything and the mic has gotten heaps cleared, again no hiss when not saying anything. The emulated surround I have from this sound card in particular works perfectly (not distorting skype or anything).

I can recommend this oen

RIG: I7-4790k @ 4.5GHz | MSI Z97S SLI Plus | 12GB Geil Dragon RAM 1333MHz | Gigabyte G1 Gaming GTX 970 (1550MHz core/7800MHz memory) @ +18mV(Maxed out at 1650/7800 so far) | Corsair RM750 | Samsung 840 EVO 120GB, 1TB Seagate Barracuda | Fractal Design Arc Midi R2 (Closed) | Sound Blaster Z                                                                                                                        Getting: Noctua NH-D15 | Possible 250GB Samsung 850 Evo                                                                                        Need a console killer that actually shits on every console? Here you go (No MIR/Promo)

This is why you should not get an FX CPU for ANY scenario other than rendering on a budget http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/286142-fx-8350-r9-290-psu-requirements/?p=3892901 http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/266481-an-issue-with-people-bashing-the-fx-cpus/?p=3620861