In need of a laptop/ultrabook!

Shyxlol

I finally got to the point where I need something portable for my studies/free time.

I'm studying mathematics and I also need to do some computer science and I'll focus on statistics+stochastic later on so there should be at least some power in the CPU (so I can't go for a cheap tablet). 

Apart from that battery life and portability are the most important things for me.

The ones I'm considering right now are the macbook air 13" (would dual-boot windows, got a free win 8/8.1 key from my university anyway) or the Sony Vaio pro 13.

The MBA would cost my 940€ in Germany with the student discount. The Vaio is hard to find but I might be able to get a good deal for it because I know some people in retail (assuming they still have some).

Their specs are relatively the same, 1.35kg vs 0.94kg is the biggest difference I can actually find that would affect me.

Things I'm not yet sure about:

- resolution, the macbook has a lower resolution but I think the density should be high enough

- sony's warranty, well considering vaio is no longer in Europe (at least that's how I understood it) how would I work out troubles that I can't fix myself?

- touch screen, the biggest disadvantage from the macbook is the lack of a touchscreen if I'm going to run windows dual-boot on it

- battery life, the macbook is pretty much the king in this category

- Vaio screen, I also heard the screen and trackpad from the Vaio are not that great, need to look into that

Tl;Dr:

MacBook Air vs Vaio Pro

battery life, warranty, good screen and unibody vs 400 grams less weight, higher resolution, touchscreen

Assuming both would cost the same, which one would you pick?

On as sidenote: I also use an iPhone, so I'm already using apple stuff anyway.

Question regarding windows:

What's the difference between

Microsoft Windows 8.1 Professional 32/64-bit (English-United Kingdom) - DreamSpark