Upgrading from FX 6300 opinions

Go to solution Solved by Faa,

Yea I know that Arma 2 engine defiantly has problems, and i'm about  to invest some time into Arma 3 and want to get the best possible experience I can, and I don't know if any AMD chip can give me that, but I have no experience with Intel chips since the last one I had was a core 2 duo e8400

I want to get a decent upgrade and not spend that cash if it wont be noticeable, but some people have said that the 6300 cant push the gpu's in games?

Well every CPU bottlenecks a 770 SLI setup in Arma 3, heck even a single 770 is bottlenecked. Dayz same thing, Eso isn't any different you need lots of single core performance for that game and Intel offers up to 100% more per core performance though

ARMA-3-CPU-Benchmark.jpg

So I'm thinking of upgrading from my amd fx 6300 to an intel chip, most likely i5 series, but i'm worried about getting too much of a "side grade" and dropping a decent chunk of change.

The reason I am wanting to do an upgrade (aside from it being a year or so since my last cpu upgrade) is I think my current setup may need more power from the processor for games.

I notice some micro stutter in SOME games (something with SLI?) and just kind of low FPS in games where I believe my setup SHOULD be putting out more. Games like Arma 2 and Arma 2 Dayz mod I get around 30-35 fps in city areas, possibly dipping lower in populated areas, and also Elder Scrolls Online, getting 60ish in less populated areas and getting as low as 35 in cities. This is possibly due to poor optimization of the games graphics engines? Or as I have read, poor single core performance from AMD chips?

So the setup is as follows -

- AMD FX 6300 oc'd to 4.4ghz (water cooled by CM Seidon 120m)

- ASUS M5A99FX Pro R.2

- 16gb (2x8) Crucial Ballistix Sport XT 1833mhz

- 2x GTX 770 2GB running in SLI

- Azza Titan 1000w Power supply

- WD 600gb Velociraptor 10000 rpm