Random thought for the day 2 - Let's create a game!

xBlizzDevious

Good evening/morning/afternoon/whatever...

I've not had much work these last couple of weeks, and I've caught up on the 300 videos I was behind in my Youtube watch later list, and I've started to get bored of the games I have (so much so that I bought Titanfall the other day - it's OK so far...).

I finished a degree course a few months ago which involved programming and the team project that we did, involved programming in C# which I found to be great fun. I haven't done anything with programming since finishing that but I kinda got re-inspired to do some programming when Barnacules started his Codegasm series - especially since he chose to use the language that I already know a fair bit about. Unfortunately, I actually failed my degree because of those damned pesky databases and that stupid normalisation and relational algebra.

ANYWAYS... I love Minecraft, and Microsoft just bought Mojang (haven't though much about this yet, but I am kinda worried about what will happen) which could lead to disaster for Minecraft. So, I just had the sudden thought: "Why don't I try and re-create Minecraft in a different language and see if I could make it 'better'".

Well, I'm nowhere near a good enough programmer to just set aside a few weeks and re-create even an early version of Minecraft, so I'd start out very, very basic. But, I've got a problem. I don't really know where to start at all. In our team project, we created a game, but it was a very simple game that merely involved the moving of an image on a WinForms application with a few counters and ifs, whiles and switches (basically).

1. What would be the best way of producing an interactive scene? For example, if I go with DirectX, how would I integrate that into my program (using Visual Studio 2013 (free because I'm a student - or was... still works))?