What gpu to get?

780blzit

Hi, 

so recently my r9 290 ref. design card was acting weird, so I sent it back where I bought it to get it fixed. They said that the ref. design is no longer available and I'm allowed to pick a new card. 

So I have around 480-560 USD to spend on a graphics card, here comes the hard part.

...what gpu?  :mellow:

oh shit 3XX confirmed

whaaat?

GTX 980 ref

That's is unfortunately not in my price range :S

Well if another 290 then either the sapphire tri-x or gigabyte windforce or even power color pcs+

The most common result of insufficient wattage is a paperweight that looks like a PC

$549.99 for the reference model

It's $770 in sweden :(

Well if another 290 then either the sapphire tri-x or gigabyte windforce or even power color pcs+

yeaah, Idk, i've got some bad experience with amd gpu's so im kinda on the green side imo.

It's $770 in sweden :(

yeaah, Idk, i've got some bad experience with amd gpu's so im kinda on the green side imo.

gtx 770? That would be a down grade from a 290

The most common result of insufficient wattage is a paperweight that looks like a PC

Try to see if you can add a couple of bucks to get the non reference 980.

Get the asus or msi model in my opinion: much quieter , cooler and better components (although different outputs compared to the reference design)

The other option would be gigabyte: cooler and more quiet than reference, no 0dB, but with better outputs

how much is a gtx 970 in sweden if it fits your budget get it it should be better than a 290 seeing its better then a 780

Spoiler

My system is the Dell Inspiron 15 5559 Microsoft Signature Edition

The Austrailian king of LTT said that I'm awesome and a funny guy. the greatest psu list known to man DDR3 ram guide

i got 477 posts in my first 30 days on LinusTechTips.com

gtx 770? That would be a down grade from a 290

I was saying that the 980 is $770 in sweden. The 'best' i can do in the nvidia line is 780 or 970.