First boot

Felice

I'm going to be booting the PC I've built for the first time this evening.

I've never done this before and have a stack of installation and driver cd's as well as a brand new Windows 8.1 to install.

Are there any guides as to how to do it all and in what order ? 

Press the power button, if it posts then you should proceed to install windows.

There is no order, and don't use the driver disks. Get the latest version from the manufacture website. You might need to install the network driver from a disk, but that's about it.

Also check out Ninite as an easy one-stop solution for all the programs you might need. 

Nova doctrina terribilis sit perdere

Audio format guides: Vinyl records | Cassette tapes

^^^

Because he had a hard drive.

If it posts ?

If it posts ?

POST screen, regular check list that everything is working. Shown right before Windows starts.

If it posts ?

You constructed a PC without knowing what Power On Self Test meant?

The single biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place.

You constructed a PC without knowing what Power On Self Test meant?

Yes

Did you see if it boots to bios before installing everything in your case? ALWAYS DO THAT / watch how to build a pc part 3 by New egg on YouTube , and watch tech uploaded's windows 8.1 install video on YouTube, other than that, good luck.

CPU: i7 4790k OC'd @ 4.6 ghz COOLER: Corsair H105 (SP 120mm Quiet Edition Fans) MOBO: ASRock Z97 Extreme 6 RAM: Kingston Hyper Fury 16GB (2x8) 1866mhz

SSD: Samsung 840 EVO 250GB HDD: WD Blue 1TB GPU: EVGA GTX 970 FTW 4GB PSU: EVGA Supernova G2 750w 80+ Gold Fully Modular CASE: Fractal Arc Midi R2

OPTICAL DRIVE: Samsung DVD Burner OS: Win 7 64bit   Please do some research of your own before asking questions. Google and Youtube are your friend.