Learning to code.

MarvinKMooney
Go to solution Solved by Slaterz,

I'm a self taught programmer. I started off by learning the fundamentals by reading though a book for C++. I found this language very hard for a beginner though and ended up switching to learning C# which is a lot easier and you get to use Winforms so you can drag and drop your controls which you can't do with C++.

I also found it difficult by learning from books as it wasn't my learning style. There are lots of video tutorials on YouTube. I used this playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL0EE421AE8BCEBA4A

It may seem tedious at first but if you stick to it then in a few months you will be able to be a confident programmer and possibly make a career out of it like I did. My other tip is do not just copy and paste while you are learning. Actually type the code and understand why it does what it does.

So I want to learn how to code, what would be the easiest thing to pick up or to at least start off with?

C#

mY sYsTeM iS Not pErfoRmInG aS gOOd As I sAW oN yOuTuBe. WhA t IS a GoOd FaN CuRVe??!!? wHat aRe tEh GoOd OvERclok SeTTinGS FoR My CaRd??  HoW CaN I foRcE my GpU to uSe 1o0%? BuT WiLL i HaVE Bo0tllEnEcKs? RyZEN dOeS NoT peRfORm BetTer wItH HiGhER sPEED RaM!!dId i WiN teH SiLiCON LotTerrYyOu ShoUlD dEsHrOuD uR GPUmy SYstEm iS UNDerPerforMiNg iN WarzONEcan mY Pc Run WiNdOwS 11 ?woUld BaKInG MY GRaPHics card fIX it? MultimETeR TeSTiNG!! aMd'S GpU DrIvErS aRe as goOD aS NviDia's YOU SHoUlD oVERCloCk yOUR ramS To 5000C18

Java, C# or C++

Java Programmer, AMD Fanboy and soon to be casemodder

C#

^This.

"You know it'll clock down as soon as it hits 40°C, right?" - "Yeah ... but it doesnt hit 40°C ... ever  😄"

GPU: MSI GTX1080 Ti Aero @ 2 GHz (watercooled) CPU: Ryzen 5600X (watercooled) RAM: 32GB 3600Mhz Corsair LPX MB: Gigabyte B550i PSU: Corsair SF750 Case: Hyte Revolt 3

So I want to learn how to code, what would be the easiest thing to pick up or to at least start off with?