R9 280x Setup

MasonV

Before I go on, let me make this clear; yes I am a noob at this, which is why I ask the following question as I'd rather now destroy the parts I am already falling in love with..anyways, onto my conundrum.

So I got an Gigabyte Windforce R9 280x and a Thermaltake Toughpower 650 W PSU which finally arrived in the mail today. So I immediately went about taking apart my computer and plugging everything in with the new components. Its a tight fit but everything was going fine following the manual until I got the graphics card. At this point I realized both new components came with different 8 & 6 pin PCI-E connectors, the PSU came with simple straight forward (nice, black & flat might I add) 6 & 8 pin connectors, meanwhile the GPU came with an 8 & 6 pin connector with 2 molex connectors on the end of each cable. (Why the blazes would I be powering it through molex?)

I guess my main question is, am I fine to use the cables that came with the PSU as apposed to the GPU? I'm going to go ahead with the PSU cables and will check back when I'm done. Hopefully someone can confirm what I suspect and then I can simply power this baby up for a test drive.

It would be okay to use the cables from the psu, using the molex one isn't a great idea.

Edit: @dragoon20005 said a reason why the molex one isn't a great idea. 

Yes use they PSU cables. They GPU came with those so you can use a older PSU that does not have PCI-E connectors

it is best practice to use the power plug from the PSU

the molex to 6 pin should not be used on a high powered GPU

the molex part are known to melt and cause a fire

Budget? Uses? Currency? Location? Operating System? Peripherals? Monitor? Use PCPartPicker wherever possible. 

Quote whom you're replying to, and set option to follow your topics. Or Else we can't see your reply.