Jump to content

Our crowd funding effort to move into our new office is live now! Click here to see the progress!

Photo
- - - - -

How to fix windows 7 not genuine build 7601?

windows 7 windows 7 ultimate issue how to fix not genuine pc problem software issue activation problem build 7601

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 danielmaskell14

danielmaskell14

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • LocationUK

Posted 26 May 2013 - 08:46 AM

I built a gaming PC back in November and installed + activated Windows 7 Ultimate on November 26th and it actiavted fine (I had to do it over the automated phone because it had been on another computer before). Now today, 6 months later, my computer says in the bottom of the screen: this copy of windows is not genuine build 7601. I don't know why this has happend as the activation has been fine for 6 months and I actuallty have got the OS legally. I've tried re-activating and doing to automated phone activation and none of them work. 

Is there a way I can fix this, because I don't want to buy another one when I have already bough a copy legit. 

Thanks you :)

 

 

Attached Files



Login or Create an Account to get rid of this ad! Login or Create an Account to get rid of this ad!

#2 Snickerzz

Snickerzz

    The Forum's Horse

  • Member
  • 6,245 posts
  • LocationIndiana, USA

Posted 26 May 2013 - 08:49 AM

Did you change any hardware? and do you have the OEM version of windows? OEM is tied to the first mobo its installed with


Case: NZXT Phantom PSU: OCZ ZS750w Motherboard: Gigabyte Z97-D3H CPU: 4690K @3.5ghz Cooler: CM hyper212 Evo Ram: G.Skill Ripjaws X 8GB 1600mhz GPU: EVGA GTX660 Storage: WD Caviar Blue 1TB, Crucial MX100 256GB SSD, Samsung 840 SSD Wifi: TP Link N900


#3 ScubaChase

ScubaChase

    Member

  • Member
  • 342 posts

Posted 26 May 2013 - 08:52 AM

I have the same problem, the only thing I was told to buy a new copy of windows 7.

CPU: FX-8150 GPU: GTX-760 SC RAM: 14GB  COOLER: H80i MOBO: AsRock HARD-DRIVE: 1.5TB CASE: NZXT M59 PSU: 650w


#4 danielmaskell14

danielmaskell14

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • LocationUK

Posted 26 May 2013 - 09:41 AM

Did you change any hardware? and do you have the OEM version of windows? OEM is tied to the first mobo its installed with

This copy was on another computer. We uninstalled it from that computer and then re-installed it on my new PC successfully back in November. Also, I have the retail version not the OEM and the retail version allows transferring copy of windows 7 to a new PC according to Microsoft. 



#5 Snickerzz

Snickerzz

    The Forum's Horse

  • Member
  • 6,245 posts
  • LocationIndiana, USA

Posted 26 May 2013 - 01:17 PM

This copy was on another computer. We uninstalled it from that computer and then re-installed it on my new PC successfully back in November. Also, I have the retail version not the OEM and the retail version allows transferring copy of windows 7 to a new PC according to Microsoft.

was the copy from the old computer a prebuilt computer? If all else fails just use the retail version key you have

Case: NZXT Phantom PSU: OCZ ZS750w Motherboard: Gigabyte Z97-D3H CPU: 4690K @3.5ghz Cooler: CM hyper212 Evo Ram: G.Skill Ripjaws X 8GB 1600mhz GPU: EVGA GTX660 Storage: WD Caviar Blue 1TB, Crucial MX100 256GB SSD, Samsung 840 SSD Wifi: TP Link N900


#6 GoodBytes

GoodBytes

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • 6,821 posts
  • LocationMontreal, Canada

User's Awards

     

Posted 26 May 2013 - 02:10 PM

Let's just hope that that some idiot didn't use a key generator for Windows activation and used your key.

Just re-activate Windows. A phone activation is needed, just pass it again. And if you get a person on the phone, just say you had a hardware that failed and needed to be replaced.

 

It may also happen if a system file of Windows, got corrupted or you tweak the file, and the activation thinks you have a non genuine version.

Open the command prompt as true admin, and type sfc /scannow and hit Enter.

Once it's done restart your computer. Then re-activate Windows.



#7 dylandylandylan

dylandylandylan

    #!

  • Member
  • 1,327 posts
  • LocationAuckland, New Zealand

Posted 26 May 2013 - 11:01 PM

Does having a non-legitmate version of windows actually affect the performance of the PC in any other way apart from having that "windows is not genuine" in the bottom corner?


Just a regular bloke who loves technology both consumer and industrial, a little bit more than he should!

Review on the FiiO E17 Headphone amp and DAC : http://linustechtips...rst-look-video/

Review on the Takstar HI 2050 Headphone ($43 USD - check them out!) http://linustechtips...rst-look-video/


#8 WoodenMarker

WoodenMarker

    Playground Accessory

  • Moderator
  • 28,670 posts
  • LocationSan Francisco, CA

Posted 26 May 2013 - 11:23 PM

Does having a non-legitmate version of windows actually affect the performance of the PC in any other way apart from having that "windows is not genuine" in the bottom corner?

I believe it just annoys you and that's it.


If you ever need help with a build, read before posting: http://linustechtips...before-posting/

#9 Theo

Theo

    Hueg

  • Member
  • 2,831 posts

Posted 26 May 2013 - 11:27 PM

If you have a legit copy just give them a call, it's an automated process. I did that for my windows cause I had activated and deactivated too many times.

Hey there. You are looking mighty fine today, have my virtual cookie!  :ph34r:

MY RIG: http://linustechtips...es/#entry446883


#10 ClutchHunter

ClutchHunter

    Junior Member

  • Member
  • 106 posts
  • LocationNorth London, UK

Posted 27 May 2013 - 01:00 AM

if it's legitimate, phone Microsoft and they should sort it. If it's not legitimate, find a proper crack from The Pirate Bay. Simple. 


My setup used to be linked here but links aren't allowed so... it shall remain a mystery!


#11 danielmaskell14

danielmaskell14

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • LocationUK

Posted 27 May 2013 - 03:31 AM

Let's just hope that that some idiot didn't use a key generator for Windows activation and used your key.

Just re-activate Windows. A phone activation is needed, just pass it again. And if you get a person on the phone, just say you had a hardware that failed and needed to be replaced.

 

It may also happen if a system file of Windows, got corrupted or you tweak the file, and the activation thinks you have a non genuine version.

Open the command prompt as true admin, and type sfc /scannow and hit Enter.

Once it's done restart your computer. Then re-activate Windows.

I'll try that! thanks



#12 danielmaskell14

danielmaskell14

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • LocationUK

Posted 27 May 2013 - 03:32 AM

if it's legitimate, phone Microsoft and they should sort it. If it's not legitimate, find a proper crack from The Pirate Bay. Simple. 

The annoying thing is I've actually bought this copy from PC World



#13 danielmaskell14

danielmaskell14

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • LocationUK

Posted 27 May 2013 - 03:33 AM

If you have a legit copy just give them a call, it's an automated process. I did that for my windows cause I had activated and deactivated too many times.

As I said, I've already tried that



#14 GoodBytes

GoodBytes

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • 6,821 posts
  • LocationMontreal, Canada

User's Awards

     

Posted 27 May 2013 - 06:24 AM

If if you call to activate, and it blocks, and even when you talk to a real person, it doesn't allow you too, even if you explained what I explained, and adding that you show them the bill as proof pf purchase, and can send a picture of the sticker of the box saying it's genuine, then that means that Microsoft flag your Windows product key as non genuine.

 

This lag could mean that the place you purchase it was found to sale non-genuine version of Windows, or that, like I mentioned, your key is found on the web, or someone used a key gen and generated your key.

 

It really really sucks if it happens. There was a story once where someone had to re-purchase StarCraft 2, because of a key gen as his copy was already activated. Blizzard refused to help him.

 

If that is the case, (and it would totally suck) I would push Microsoft like no tomorrow, and I bet they'll give you a key, because they will see that if you push for it, you know it's genuine key.  But then again, you are talking to a large company, it's like talking to a brick wall.. but you never know.



#15 legopc

legopc

    true princess at heart

  • Member
  • 3,021 posts
  • Locationholland

Posted 27 May 2013 - 06:38 AM

if you cant activate it you could just buy a new key but you could also use a wat remover that will remove the not genuine thing but using that is iligal and i would recomend that you just get a new key 


If you tell a big enough lie and tell it frequently enough it will be believed.

-Adolf Hitler 


#16 MeltyMoon

MeltyMoon

    Friendly Neighborhood Weaboo

  • Member
  • 1,379 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey

Posted 27 May 2013 - 07:10 PM

Did you change any hardware? and do you have the OEM version of windows? OEM is tied to the first mobo its installed with

Umm that's the funny thing about mine, I have used my OEM key on 3 different motherboards now, and they all have worked and never expired. Anyone have any idea why lol? :P


CPU Overclocking Database <------- Over 100 submissions, and over 10,000 views! Cinebench R15 update! (10/16/13)                         

GPU Overclocking Database                                                                                    14.5 Days wasted, and counting :) MyAnimeList

 


#17 arkon

arkon

    Member

  • Member
  • 961 posts
  • LocationToronto, Canada

Posted 27 May 2013 - 07:25 PM

Umm that's the funny thing about mine, I have used my OEM key on 3 different motherboards now, and they all have worked and never expired. Anyone have any idea why lol? :P

 

I used to use my OEM Windows XP disc everywhere too. :P



#18 Dilip

Dilip

    Junior Member

  • Member
  • 59 posts

Posted 27 May 2013 - 11:08 PM

guys did you find the win7 reg.exe   which you can find in most of the torrent sites .If you have find it use it to reg your win7



#19 GoodBytes

GoodBytes

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • 6,821 posts
  • LocationMontreal, Canada

User's Awards

     

Posted 28 May 2013 - 05:10 AM

guys did you find the win7 reg.exe   which you can find in most of the torrent sites .If you have find it use it to reg your win7

 

What does a command line registry editor, has to do with anything.. I smell virus.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: windows 7, windows 7 ultimate, issue, how to fix, not, genuine, pc problem, software issue, activation problem, build 7601

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users