should i buy an SSD?

Admiaczking
Go to solution Solved by dragoon20005,

I want to get a Crucial M500 480 GB cause I'm scared my hard drive will fail. Recommended?

And just a side note, I have never used an SSD before.

CPU: AMD FX-8120 | CPU Cooler: Thermaltake Contac 30 | Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 | Memory: Kingston 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3-1333 | Storage: WD 1TB | GPU: Gigabyte Radeon HD 7870 | Case: Thermaltake Chaser MK-I | PSU: Thermaltake Black Widow 850W

not so big mate

pick either 250-256 GB at most

Budget? Uses? Currency? Location? Operating System? Peripherals? Monitor? Use PCPartPicker wherever possible. 

Quote whom you're replying to, and set option to follow your topics. Or Else we can't see your reply.

If you have the money and IF you for sure know that your hard drive will adventually fail then yes.

The Wannabe is no longer. Replaced by the Flotilla. If you replace every part of a computer is it still the same computer?

Survived the Survivor 2299

Audio Engineer, Lighting Programmer, Video Engineer, FOH.

Yes, and if you never have used one, run to a store and buy one.

250-256GB  is enough for most people, if you want to get a large capacity one, go with the MX100 series from Crucial (check the 512GB model). The M500 series are not that good.

If it's for OS and maybe a few programs, 120GB to 250GB is enough for most people. It's definitely worth getting, it makes a huge difference. 

Should you buy an SSD?

yes. no matter what the circumstance, it's always a good time to upgrade to an SSD

INTEL CORE I5 4670K | NVIDIA GTX 980 | NOCTUA NH-L9i | GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-SLI | KINGSTON 120GB V300

CM STORM QUICKFIRE TK | BENQ XL2420TE | ROCCAT SAVU | FRACTAL DEFINE R4

where's a good place to buy an SSD? i'm not sure where a Micro Center is in Tampa