Should I upgrade to Windows 8?

Go to solution Solved by Vitalius,

No. If Windows 7 works for you and you already have it, keep it.

8 is only worth getting for new builders and people who absolutely need it for development purposes. 

I have been using Windows 8 for over 8 months and it's fine. I just installed Classic Start and it's pretty much Windows 7.5. I wouldn't upgrade to it from 7 if I didn't want to pay the money, but I was building a new computer at the time anyway.

So I have been running Windows 7 now on my PC and haven't really felt the need to upgrade to Windows 8, as 7 has served me well and continues to do so. All the various issues such as metro that people have with Windows 8 has also been an off putting factor. With rumors that Windows 9 is in the pipelines at Microsoft I am more and more reluctant to pay the expensive upgrade costs for Windows 8. I would love to know the community's thoughts on this and to put the question simply. Should I upgrade to Windows 8?

LobotikaNZ

I was actually in the same situation but I just decided to wait for 9. 8 doesn't seem worth while enough to warrant an upgrade so if I were you I'd just wait it out and buy 9.

No. If Windows 7 works for you and you already have it, keep it.

8 is only worth getting for new builders and people who absolutely need it for development purposes. 

I have been using Windows 8 for over 8 months and it's fine. I just installed Classic Start and it's pretty much Windows 7.5. I wouldn't upgrade to it from 7 if I didn't want to pay the money, but I was building a new computer at the time anyway.

† Christian Member †

For my pertinent links to guides, reviews, and anything similar, go here, and look under the spoiler labeled such. A brief history of Unix and it's relation to OS X by Builder.