Help building a storage server

MrPilotSir

I plan on building a storage server + possible extras but need some help.

I want to use the Norco RPC-4224 or equivalent. Even though I will not have 24 hard drives in it at first, I plan on this having huge storage space for video, and personal/server backup, plex

I have seen this thread http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/21948-ltt-10tb-storage-show-off-topic/#entry273427 and was looking at it for ideas but I have a few questions

First off I plan on having everything mirrored and will be backing up everything to CrashPlan, I have had hard drive fail me in the past and lost pictures and dont want to have it happen again!

1    -    I am new to RAID and if I get random raid cards and if they die, do I need to get the same type of raid card to make things work again?

2    -    What is the opinion of storage spaces in windows server 2012? Has anyone had a problem with using that with large amounts of storage? I like it because I could just keep adding drives and expanding the array without fuss. 

3    -    Do you think I should just get an inexpensive raid card with 2 SFF-8087 and use windows storage spaces? or should I spend the money on a nicer raid card and use that for my mirroring?

4    -    Other than the above questions does it matter what motherboard/CPU/ram I use to get windows server 2012 working? how do I know? My dad just built a new computer and we tried to load server 2012 on it but ran into a bunch of problems, is that normal? or should windows server 2012 load on anything windows 8 will load on?

5    -    This will mainly be used as a file server but will also probably run plex and so it will need to be at least powerful enough to transcode video

Sorry for all the questions.. Any help is greatly appreciated!