First personal desktop (and custom build)

TTD187

Technically, I did have a desktop when I was younger, but the use of it was extremely minimal after a while. I was young when we had an internet connection, then we moved and stopped the internet for a very long time. Shame. Then I used for music. Meh. It had Windows 98 on it!

So as this is my first build, I'm not entirely sure if there's anything I should be switching on it, but I'm looking for something to game in 1080p on my TV at reasonable FPS which should last for years to come. I want to play the most recent games above 40fps on highest settings so I opted for a GTX 760 and a fast i5.

I plan at some point to go SLI and overclock my CPU but I'm not sure on what cooler to get for the CPU and if it's needed when I first buy it, or can I wait until I do decide to overclock? That won't actually be until my CPU starts to run games a little slowly due to advanced graphics.

I'm okay with changing a few parts for better value of money or to improve my capabilities of doing what it is I want (as mentioned).

http://uk.pcpartpicker.com/p/G9Jyt6

Edit: I forgot to include that I'm going for a budget of around £700.

Considering my desire to get a second card after some time, would it be worth switching to an R9 280X to get a boost in performance? The motherboard I chose doesn't have SLI support but it does have crossfire and it does seem to have SLI support, there is a greater increase in cost.

I would suggest the following changes, since you have some room until you reach £700:

1. If you want to overclock you need a Z board (Z87 or Z97), those will let you overclock to the limit.
  2. Get 2x4G of RAM instead of just one memory, that way you will be using the Dual Channel and it might perform better.
  3. If you don't need that much space, get a small SSD (120Gb for example) for the SO and some games and get a second 1Tb HDD for all the rest.