Fiio X3 sounds like a huge bargain, or am I missing something? Newbie needs help!

@Bermuda_UT
Go to solution Solved by dizmo,

Thank you! I see..!

I'm not really happy with what my laptop can output, I actually have no clue how much it will benefit from buying a separate DAC.

They look fantastic and promising, but the maximum sampling rate is 24/96. I have library of 24/192 flac. Isn't it better to get a DAC that can support 24/192 for my library..? Or I will not notice the difference? I can notice between my pc (24/96 onboard, playing 24/192flac) and my laptop (44.1 as I recall but I might be wrong, but definitely something lower than my pc, playing the same file, same headphones)

I edited it a while ago to the e17 which has the 24/192 you're seeking :)

Just a little more money.

The Audioengine is about $70 cheaper.

I am a complete newbie when it comes to DAC/Amp..

To begin with, FiiO X3 :
- works as DAP and PC DAC

- 24/192 playback/input

- reads major lossless formats with dsd coming soon

- hardware eq

- $210 on Amazon with other accessories.

Full info here http://www.fiio.com.cn/products/index.aspx?MenuID=105026016

I am looking for a PC DAC.. For x3, DAP fuctions aside, nothing at this price range has this much functionality(24/192 and hardware eq).

With limited budget (~$200), I personally couldn't find any better deal.

But before I open my wallet, I need your wise advise.

Is buying x3 for PC DAC&AMP (and take DAP function granted) worth $200?

What would you recommend instead?

Thanks in advance!

ps. I'm too scared to post this on head fi lol. Don't throw stones at me :( Cushions may be.. Or not. :P

edit. fixed the post a bit

Blog \ Twitter \

If it's not fun, why do it?

So you'd be buying an amp to go with it?
What makes you want to go with this audio player over say an iBasso?

You should know that the firmware isn't usually the greatest with these players. It won't be nearly Apple level.