Converting Video

Hey guys, im new to video editing field, i just recorded my league game play using bandicam, than the raw avi file is 5gb, converted to mov, and it shrinked to like 500mb, this is normal thing?

also, how much of quality decrease should i expect from converting?

Quality loss I'm not sure about, but a lot of the time *.avi files are completely uncompressed so when you render it through a format that does compressing you can usually tack off like 80% of the original file size.

Quality loss I'm not sure about, but a lot of the time *.avi files are completely uncompressed so when you render it through a format that does compressing you can usually tack off like 80% of the original file size.

so.. it is normal to see huge chunk of size decrease right?

so.. it is normal to see huge chunk of size decrease right?

Yeah, I've had files from Fraps that are a few hundred gigs and when I render them out they're usually around 2-3 GB.

What you need to do is find a bitrate calculator. Many websites and even programs can have you input your needs and spit out a worst case bitrate - Length VS filesize = bitrate needed.

Its trial and error. If you select 720p and I select 720p, they can still look drastically different due to the amount of bitrate allowed depending what you or I set.

Convert to mp4, its quite the universal format and every device pretty much can view it.

for 720p low filesize/low quality (dualpass encode @ 6mbps)

for 720p higher filesize/higher quality (dualpass encode @ 10mbps)

1080p low filesize/low quality (dualpass encode @ 12mbps)

1080p higher filesize / higher quality (dualpass encode @ 18mbps)

As I said, Trial and error, you may not think this is good enough, or you may think its still too big...

I'd never do a single pass encoding unless your going for below 720p (phones and whatnot)

Maximums - Asus Z97-K /w i5 4690 Bclk @106.9Mhz * x39 = 4.17Ghz, 8GB of 2600Mhz DDR3,.. Gigabyte GTX970 G1-Gaming @ 1550Mhz