College Laptop

Qam

I am currently in the market for a laptop for college. I am going to be a chemistry major, and the college that I will attend does have any recommendations. I am looking for a high-spec, portable laptop, 13 to 14 inch screen size, and in the range of 1500 dollars, but I am will to spend more if it is worth it.

The ones that I have found so far are Vaio 13 pro, Macbook pro 13 inch, Acer s7, and samsung ativ 9 plus. As of right now I am leaning to the macbook pro, but I am concerned because I have little to no experience with maverick os, and I have been using windows my entire life. Is switching from windows to mavericks difficult , and how steep is the learning curve. Also how easy would it be to upgrade the macbook pro in terms of ram, and ssd. I know it was possible on the older ones, but I heard the newer are almost impossible, because the ram is soldered in, and such.

Also I am buying a smartphone soon, and I really like the android os, and I leaning to the new HTC one M8, but if I get the macbook pro, would it make more sense to get an iphone. I know that was a lot, so thanks for anyone who helps.

I would look at the Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro, or the s7 like you mentioned.

Ryzen 1600@3.8ghz / 16gb 2400mhzASRock B350 ITX / Gigabyte RX 470 4gb / 256gb M.2 / SG13B-Q / Corsair 450w

Gigabyte P35K or MSI GS60

Both are well under an inch and both have discrete and powerful graphics and both have matte, 1080p IPS displays

Re: Moving from Windows to Mavericks

I've used Windows since a child and got a Macbook Air about 6 months ago. Transition was easy. I mainly use my Windows based desktop and flicking between the 2 is easy. Only thing to look out for is the command button (treated as ctrl on mac).

So basically don't let changing to Mavericks affect your decision. Just base your decision on hardware specs. 

Ps: I genuinely get around 8/10 hours a day out of my MBA. Running office and chrome. 'Instant' wake too.